Meet the Team

Interpretation Australia relies on the voluntary input of those members who join our Executive. Their actions ensure that the Association provides events and resources for its members and takes advantage of new opportunities.

2023/24 Office Bearers

Kylie Christian


Kylie Christian is a Sydney-based heritage professional who specialises in interpretation planning and delivery. She has worked in the industry for over 25 years. Kylie has a Master of Science degree in heritage and interpretation from the University of Leicester, a Bachelor in History from Macquarie University, is a professional photographer, an award-winning interpretation designer, and is a certified project director. In addition, she is a Certified Interpretive Guide with the National Association for Interpretation (USA) and a NSW Chapter Councilor for the Australia Institute of Project Management.

Kylie has served as President since 2021, as well as previously from 2017-2019. She also served as Treasurer from 2019-2021.

Everick Heritage
Principal NSW
+61 418 218 151

Beata Kade


Beata Kade is the Managing  Director of Art of Multimedia, an interactive design studio that crafts compelling communications and immersive cultural experiences for enduring impact.

A producer with 35 years experience in communications and over 20 years creating natural, cultural and built heritage interpretation, Beata specialises in strategic and conceptual development, leading a multi-disciplinary team that developed numerous award-winning films and digital projects for Australia’s diverse cultural institutions.

Beata also developed hundreds of marketing, community education, change management, safety and staff engagement solutions for diverse federal, state and local government, not-for-profit and private sector clients.

A founding member of the Western Sydney IT Cluster and past Director of the Small Business Development Corporation, an advisory board to the NSW Minister of Small Business and a Director of Affordable Community Housing Ltd, a not-for-profit provider of community housing.

Beata served as Treasurer of Interpretation Australia in 2011-2013 and returns in 2021 with the goal of working with the Board to take Interpretation Australia to a new level of sustainability, value and support for our diverse members who deliver interpretation across Australia.

Art of Multimedia
+61 2 9209 4309

Felicity Coleman

Vice President

I am a Professional Historian, Heritage Consultant and Interpretation Expert who specialises in the assessment, management and interpretation of historic heritage places. I am highly skilled in historical research and the identification and assessment of cultural heritage, and have specific expertise in the interpretation of heritage places having worked in the field in both Australia and the United Kingdom. I have worked on a diverse range of heritage sites, from former prisons to castle ruins, and bring an in-depth knowledge to the communication of heritage values.

GJM Heritage
Senior Heritage Consultant

Scott Killeen

General Executive Member

A storyteller at heart, Scott has developed several award-winning experiences and knows the importance of the initial experience brief. It can be the hardest part of experience design, and it’s the most important! An inspiring and well-articulated brief provides a launchpad for creative and inspired design. Scott’s deep dive into experience design began over 25 years ago. Today he’s still driven by his passion for visitor experiences and thrives on helping organisations engage their community through designing meaningful, engaging and memorable experiences, anchored to purpose. In recent years, Scott has gained extensive experience in creating engaging and effective experiences that facilitate environmentally friendly behaviours using Community-based Social Marketing tools.

Kelp Creative
Experience Designer
+61 438 747 237

Joshua Madden


Joshua is an archaeologist with over 12 years’ experience specialising in managing archaeology in Australia and specifically New South Wales. He enjoys learning and developing his understanding of heritage and sustainability theory and how the industry can integrate sustainability theory and practice in to archaeology and heritage. He loves engaging with community and stakeholders to understand what the community values and how to best ensure that these are valued and celebrated now and into the future. As an archaeologist he works with multi-disciplinary teams to bring a unique perspective to the interpretation process from public archaeology open days to heritage interpretation installations and education programs.ᅠ

Sustainable Heritage
Principal Heritage Consultant
+61 449 196 040

Jennifer Waithman

General Executive Member

Jennifer Waithman’s love and passion for natural resources has led her to spending 20 years within the interpretation profession for various governmental agencies in the United States and now in Australia. She is a Certified Interpretive Guide and Certified Interpretive Guide Trainer with the National Association for Interpretation (NAI-USA).

Originally form the United States, Jennifer has worked for the U.S. Forest Service, National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Nevada Department of Wildlife and Clark County Wetlands Park. She moved to Australia 5 years ago and has since worked for Parks VIC and the Sunshine Coast Council. Recently Jennifer has started her own consulting business.

Her professional journey has led to expertise in implementation of interpretation strategies/plans, development of interpretive exhibitions and trail signage, interpretive media and face-to-face program design and delivery.

Jennifer served as NAI Region 8 Treasurer from 2014-2016 and recently Interpretation Australia (IA) State Representative for SE Queensland in 2021-22. She is a current member of NAI, IA and BirdLife Australia.

Interpretation Specialist 

2023/24 Portfolio Managers & Chapter Representatives

Portfolio Managers

Digital Engagement (Socials) Portfolio: Felicity Coleman
Website Portfolio: Kylie Christian
Membership Engagement Portfolio: Kira Paznikov
Awards Portfolio: Kylie Christian
Sponsorship Portfolio: Beata Kade
Webinars/Podcasts Portfolio: Naias Mingo-Poch and John Pastorelli
Newsletter Portfolio: Joshua Madden
First Nations – Interpreting Culture & Country Portfolio: Vacant
Resources Portfolio: Vacant
Conference/Events Convenor: Vacant

Chapter Representatives

ACT:   Kate Armstrong
QLD (NTH):   Maree Treadwell Kerr
SA:   Jessica Wilson

Kira Paznikov

Membership Portfolio

Kira has 20 years experience in the information services field, with postgraduate qualifications in Library Services, Archives and Records Management. Currently a Heritage Officer at Heritage Now, a Sydney and Hunter based heritage consultancy, she was recently involved in the production of the Newcastle Archaeology Walk; a digital walking trail bringing the archaeology of Newcastle alive.  Her background as a Librarian in public and state libraries in New South Wales and the Northern Territory has forged extensive skills in community engagement, program development and delivery, and providing services to CALD (Culturally and linguistically diverse) communities. Kira enjoys connecting people with information, and is an advocate for lifelong learning and the power of effective interpretation as a catalyst for transformative experience.

Heritage Now
Heritage Officer and Practice Manager