Our Awards

Effective interpretation of our natural and cultural heritage makes a difference in our daily lives. It helps us understand and navigate our world, and adds depth and insight to our experiences in museums, zoos, parks, heritage sites, the outdoors and commercial environments.

The Interpretation Australia National Awards for Excellence were established in 2008 to recognise and reward outstanding achievements in the field of interpretation.

The 2023 Awards – NOW OPEN!

The IA National Awards for Excellence (IANAFE) are open to all Australian interpretation practitioners who are members of Interpretation Australia Association Incorporated. The IANAFEs will be awarded at the Interpretation Australia AGM and Awards Ceremony held in November.

QUESTIONS?: Contact IA at admin@interpretationaustralia.asn.au.

Important dates:

Open to Members and Non Members
Call for entries open: 31 July 2023
Entries close: 8 October 2023 (Note: No extension will be provided)
Awards Ceremony:  9 November 2023 (Part of the 2023 IA Conference Event)

Download Awards Submission Templates:

Part A

Part B


The award categories include:

1. Interpretation Projects – Outdoor

  • Level 1: Project budget less than $75,000
  • Level 2: Project budget over $75,000

2. Interpretation Projects – Indoor

  • Level 1: Project budget less than $75,000
  • Level 2: Project budget over $75,000

In addition, the following special awards will be considered as applicable:

  • Interpretation Australia Medal
  • Georgie Waterman Individual – Lifetime Achievement
  • Young Achievement Individual – Emerging Professional

3. Temporary Interpretation Event or Display

4. Digital Interpretation Project

5. First Nations Interpretation Project

6. Interpretation Planning & Design Project



Excellence Awards

Interpretation Projects – Outdoors

A project that demonstrates interpretation integration primarily within an outdoor environment or setting.

Interpretation Projects – Indoors

A project that demonstrates interpretation integration primarily within an indoor environment or setting.

Temporary Interpretation Event or Display

An event or display encompassing an interpretative approach that is not a permanent fixture or installation.

Digital Interpretation Project

An interpretation project that is delivered via digital devices or media and does not have a permanent or associated display. May incorporate sites that utilise digital to enhance visitor experience, ie. walking tour of a historical or environmental site.

First Nations Interpretation Project

A project is primarily focused on cultural values, knowledge and/or storytelling of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Peoples.

Interpretation Planning & Design Project

Interpretation documentation, planning and design projects, representing the works completed prior to the implementation of interpretation devices or installations.

Special Achievement Awards

Interpretation Australia Medal – Inaugural Award

An annual award recognising outstanding project achievement in the field of interpretation. This award is recommended by the judging panel to the IA Executive Committee. Where more than one project is recommended, the final decision will be at the descretion of the IA Executive Committee.

Georgie Waterman Award

Since 1999, Interpretation Australia has celebrated the life of interpreter Georgie Waterman by awarding the Georgie Waterman Award to an outstanding interpreter. The Georgie Waterman Award recognises individuals who have made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the development of the profession of interpretation in Australia. The key focus of this award is on the sustained contribution being made to the profession.

Visit our past award recipients.

Nominate an interpretation professional.

Young Achievement Award

The Young Achievement Award is for emerging professionals who are making an outstanding contribution to the development of interpretation in Australia. First presented in 2008, this award celebrates inspiration, creativity, innovation and audience awareness of a young individual who demonstrates a commitment to Interpretation as their chosen profession.

Nominate an emerging professional.