Enter 2017 Awards

The 2016 Interpretation Australia Awards for Excellence open on Friday 9th June 2017 and close 5pm AEST Monday 21st August 2017.

Interpretation Australia gratefully acknowledges Armsign’s kind ongoing sponsorship of the Awards for Excellence.

Submissions are invited, please see the guidelines below. For the first time, we have introduced new award categories.

Award Category
Award for Excellence Project Under $15,000
Award for Excellence Project between $15,000 – $50,000
Award for Excellence Project between $50,000 – $150,000
Award for Excellence Project over $150,000



For information about the Entry Process and costs – Follow this Link


What are the Interpretation Australia 2017 National Awards for Excellence?

Effective interpretation of our natural and cultural heritage makes a difference to our daily lives. It helps us understand and navigate our world, and adds depth and insight to our experiences in museums, zoos, parks, the outdoors and commercial environments.

Outstanding heritage interpretation influences our perceptions and behaviour patterns and may therefore also contribute to solving some of the critical environmental issues of the 21st century. The Interpretation Australia National Awards for Excellence were established to recognise and reward outstanding heritage interpretation.

How is interpretive excellence measured?

Interpretation takes place in all sorts of environments and with budgets ranging from a few thousand to several million dollars. But the principles of interpretation remain the same no matter what the budget – clear communication that successfully engages and informs visitors in innovative and cost effective ways.

The IA Awards are judged by a panel of experts with comprehensive experience in the field of heritage interpretation. Receiving an IA Award acknowledges that you are a leader in the profession and that your work has made a vital contribution to the success of your project.

What kind of projects can be entered?

Projects with interpretive content in the following areas are eligible for entry:

  • Built / site-based interpretation: Exhibition, display, trail, signage, heritage-based installation, sculpture, public art
  • Print publication: Book, brochure, guide
  • Live interpretation: Family, school or children’s program, performance, training program, guided tour
  • Multimedia: CD, DVD, film, audio, Wiki, website, podcast, smartphone app
  • Plan: Interpretation plan, master plan, landscape plan, exhibition plan
  • Educational material: Education kit, tool kit, on-line educational program
  • Campaign: Project that involves several of the above elements

Please note that projects are not judged separately for these different areas; entries are instead judged in four categories according to project cost, as specified below.

Who is eligible to enter?

Individuals, organisations, agencies and businesses may enter:

  • Entrants must be either Australian citizens or residents, or Australian-based organisations
  • Projects must be delivered in, or have their origins in, Australia
  • IA Awards are open to IA members and non-members but attract different entry fees
  • Members of the IA Executive and IA Executive Reference Group and IA State /Territory Representatives may enter the IA Awards but members of the IA Awards Judging Committee may not enter.

Entry into the IA National Awards for Excellence is limited to a person, or a team under the substantive control or direction of a person who is a principal of the business which is an owner or formal licensee of the copyright in the work being entered. Where the entrant does not own the copyright, the entry must be accompanied by a written agreement from the copyright holder stating that the work may be entered for an award.

Qualifying period:

Your project must have been completed between 1 January 2010 and 31 December 2016.

How are the IA Awards judged?

The IA Awards are based on a modified form of the 1998 ANZECC Model for Best Practice in environmental interpretation. The judges will be looking for evidence that your project met the needs of the organisation/client, that it made a measurable difference to the client and stakeholders and the reasons that you think it should win an award.

Closing date:

Entries must be received before 5pm AEST, Monday 21st August 2017.

IA Awards ceremony:

In 2017 the IA Awards ceremony will take place during the conference canapes and drinks at the IA National Workshop in Tasmania, from 11 to 15 October 2017. Once again we gratefully acknowledge the generosity of our major IA Awards sponsor Armsign for their support which includes cash prizes and plaques for our winners. Award entrants are expected to attend the awards ceremony.

IA Awards categories and prizes:  Follow this link

Watch this space for more information about how to enter the awards; the categories in which projects can be entered; and prizes to be presented.


Sponsors:  Armsign